Board of Directors

Home   Board of Directors

H. T. Smith

Chairman H.T. Smith is a Miami native who received his early education in the Miami-Dade County Public School system. He is a graduate of Florida A&M University where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics. Following his graduation, Mr. Smith was commissioned an officer in the United States Army; he is a Vietnam War veteran. Upon his return home, he earned a Juris

Read More »

Elaine Black

Secretary Elaine Black graduated from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Business with a Bachelor of Science degree in Management and Finance. She began her advocacy for community and economic development in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and served as the Deputy Director for Commerce for the city of Philadelphia. Upon arriving in Miami, Mrs. Black served as Executive Director of Tools for Change where she planned, developed

Read More »

Erica N. Wright

Treasurer Erica Wright was raised in Atlanta, Georgia, where she graduated cum laude from Spelman College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Politics and Economics and a minor in Management and Organization. Following her graduation, Ms. Wright attended the University of Miami School of Law where she obtained a Juris Doctor degree. Ms. Wright has experience working with federal, state and local

Read More »

Jerry C. Sawyer

Director Jerry C. Sawyer is a native Miamian. He is the former president of the Brownsville Middle School PTA/PTSA, and a former member of the Miami Dade County Public Schools Advisory Board and the Inroads.  He has been a representative of the Miami Dade County Empowerment and Enterprising Zone Community. Mr. Sawyer has participated in Leadership Miami, and the 5000 Role Models of South

Read More »